Cantatas & Brandenburgs


Friday, May 26 at 8pm

Ellen McAteer, soprano
Rebecca Claborn, alto
Asitha Tennekoon, tenor                  
Brett Polegato, bass
with Patrick Jordan and Brandon Chui, viola
& John Abberger, oboe

Cantata, BWV 161 “Komm du süsse Todesstunde”
Cantata, BWV 150 “Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich”
Brandenburg Concerto No. 6, BWV 1051
Oboe Concerto in E-flat, BWV 1053a

Opening night at the 2017 festival pairs two remarkable early cantatas, with two of Bach’s beloved concertos. Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich is the earliest surviving cantata that Bach wrote, and Komm, du süsse Todesstunde was written during the composer’s time in Weimar. These magical works are complemented by two joyous concertos, the Brandenburg Concerto No. 6, and the Oboe Concerto in E-flat.

Tickets are available for purchase at the door, one half hour before each performance.